A YEAR EXPERIENCING LIFE IN PORTUGAL

Off to a Bumpy Start in Braga, Portugal

In search of my next home in Portugal

Lisa Tisdale
6 min readJul 3, 2024

--

The inside of a studio apartment in Braga with granite walls, three French doors with windows, a small loveseat, a bed and a table and chair.
My Infirmary Room in Braga, Portugal (photo by author)

After a long train journey from Nazaré to Braga, I arrived in the late afternoon heat, and checked into my apartment in the city center. I was eager to spend more time here after enjoying a week in the same apartment last summer.

There is NO Talking During Football

After unpacking and stocking up on groceries, I headed out to find a place to watch one of the biggest football games of the year, the European Champions League final. After a quick wander through town, I found a guy opening up his bar in the sidestreets who was going to show the game. He had a big TV hung on the wall and plenty of room for me to sit right in front. Hooray! I went in and grabbed a barstool with a good view of the game and hopefully an upset by the underdog team.

Surprisingly, only a few people joined to watch, including a local guy who wandered in and settled into a table with a book, ignoring the game. While this was not the most exciting of finals, I still don’t understand how a European can not want to watch one of the biggest games of the year but to each his own. This would have been fine but unfortunately, he decided to chat with me. I resisted…

--

--

Lisa Tisdale

After a year of life in Lisbon, I am currently on a one year trip through Portugal, to learn more about my new country! Travel Consultant, tistravels.com