A YEAR EXPERIENCING LIFE IN PORTUGAL

It’s Lonely at the Top of Viseu

In search of my next home in Portugal

Lisa Tisdale
6 min readAug 25, 2024

--

View of buildings in a hilltop town with a cathedral rising behind them.
On Top of “Mount Viseu” (photo by author)

After a fun and somewhat chaotic year in Lisbon, I am spending a year living in different towns in Portugal. I want to get to know this beautiful country and its people even better and to experience life in different areas. I am eager to see what the next chapter might look like…and where it will happen.

After leaving the northeast town of Bragança, a place that had pleasantly surprised me, I headed towards the center of the country to Viseu, a hilltop town of about 100,000 people.

Climbing “Mount Viseu”

As the bus headed toward Viseu, my home for the next month, I stared out the window at the rolling hills, wondering what my next stop would bring. My expectations of the town were limited as it was one I’d chosen in a hasty attempt to fill the schedule and give me the geographic coverage of the country I desired.

From the pictures I’d seen, my apartment was spacious and featured spectacular views. The reason for these spectacular views should have been obvious to me as they were of the cathedral that sits at the highest point in Viseu. I had seen this cathedral on what I later dubbed “Mount Viseu” many times in photos but…

--

--

Lisa Tisdale

After a year of life in Lisbon, I am currently on a one year trip through Portugal, to learn more about my new country! Travel Consultant, tistravels.com