A YEAR EXPERIENCING LIFE IN PORTUGAL

Blown Away by Bragança

In search of my next home in Portugal

Lisa Tisdale
8 min readAug 13, 2024

--

View of a castle with the red roofs of houses dotting the hill upon which it sits
My Five-Star View of Bragança (photo by author)

After a fun and somewhat chaotic year in Lisbon, I am spending a year living in different towns in Portugal. I want to get to know this beautiful country and its people even better and to experience life in different areas. I am eager to see what the next chapter might look like…and where it will happen.

After a sad farewell to Braga, a place of which I’d grown very fond, I rented a car and headed northeast toward the Spanish border to the town of Bragança. I had shortened my original plan of staying in this remote town from a month to just a week based on the advice of a Portuguese friend who said it was a place to visit, not to stay for long.

He was wrong.

Following the Signs…to Spain

When I first planned this year’s stops, my goal was to live in a variety of locations, covering all the various corners of Portugal. Bragança was among the most remote, situated in the northeast corner of Portugal, just 38 kilometers (24 miles) from the Spanish border. It felt even more isolated as the only way to reach it was via bus or rental car as there are no trains.

--

--

Lisa Tisdale

After a year of life in Lisbon, I am currently on a one year trip through Portugal, to learn more about my new country! Travel Consultant, tistravels.com