A YEAR EXPERIENCING LIFE IN PORTUGAL

A Trip Back to Lisbon for Poker Night!

In search of my next home in Portugal

Lisa Tisdale
8 min readSep 5, 2024

--

Group shot of five friends.
The Poker Gang (photo by author)

After a fun and somewhat chaotic year in Lisbon, I am spending a year living in different towns in Portugal. I want to get to know this beautiful country and its people even better and to experience life in different areas. I am eager to see what the next chapter might look like…and where it will happen.

What you ask, might entice me back to Lisbon for a visit? Well poker night of course!

An Offer I Could Not Refuse

Poker night at Ryan’s is one of the things I miss most about Lisbon. A group of mostly rookies to the game, would sit out on his large terrace in the shadows of the Castelo de São Jorge, cook on the traditional outdoor grill, and fill up on food before getting “serious” about the game. Ryan would lead a couple of practice games where he taught any new players the basics. Then it was time to pay the 20 euro buy in and ante up!

For a new immigrant who had yet to establish a friend group, poker night was heaven. It was during these evenings where I met wonderful people who helped me navigate the day-to-day challenges of life in Lisbon and feel like I was finding my way in my new country.

--

--

Lisa Tisdale

After a year of life in Lisbon, I am currently on a one year trip through Portugal, to learn more about my new country! Travel Consultant, tistravels.com